DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 1 gimbal repair - won't calibrate

mobby_6kl

Reactions
Hi all,

A few months ago I got a used Air for a specific project. It did the job, but the gimbal had been repaird at some point before and would sometimes get stuck and not keep completely horizontal.

I got a replacement gimbal from aliexpress (just the case/motors) and swapped it. After jiggling the wires and connectors a bit, the camera works, and the gimbal turns on but is locked in extreme left (or maybe right?) position, and will get stuck at 10% when trying to calibrate.

Unfortunately the previous repair glued the big wire loom to the case in one place and I had to break off parts of the case to remove it. It looks like all the wires are intact, although the insulation is a bit torn in some places, so it's possible that something is damaged where I can't see it.

WboSCzBl.jpg

I tried to check the smaller flat ribbon cable, and it seems that one pin might not be connected through, although it's hard to say for certain testing it with a multimeter. It might even be by design if they have power and signal going through that cable. Does anyone know which cable does what? Any ideas what is the most likely cause of these symptoms? I'm trying to decide between:
  • Buying one cable
  • Buying both cables
  • Buying the whole gimal again
I'd rather get either the correct cable, or the whole gimbal, since I could at least sell my working parts in that case. Unfortunately I don't have extra parts to test it, and would have to wait weeks for anything to arrive. So any suggestiosn would be helpful, thanks!

-------

Problem? gimbal doesn't calibrate after replacement

Was unit in a crash? probably :)

What have you tried so far?: restart, change batteries, refresh firmware, wiggle the cables

What device are you using? Galaxy Note9

What firmware are you running ( aircraft, remote controller)? newest