DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2S seems to have optical problems

wilger

Reactions
Hello all. I am new to the 2S and would appreciate your opinions on these pics I took. I did aerial photog years ago and dont remeber the buildings leaning like these are. DJI_0005s.jpgDJI_0015s.jpg

buildings leaning like these are.
hmm, I don't see them leaning. They look fine to me. The top photo looks a little over-saturated. Did you work on them in post?

Reactions: kalimah
Those look like nice pics to me and buildings look sound. I am not at all a Photographer but there are some pretty good you tube videos that will explain the MANY camera settings I only know a couple of them myself.

Hey that second photo actually looks pretty good. But I can see if you stare at it long enough....all those lines...you get some "movement" and it appears to be "leaning." All the crosses are pointing each in a different direction.

They look like they are leaning because the camera has a wide angle lens, equivalent to approx. 24mm focal length.
It is called converging verticals. This happens with all wide angle lenses on any camera (except for tilt/shift lenses). You have to live with it.
You can read some basics here: Using Wide Angle Lenses
Here is a quote:
"Whenever a wide angle lens is pointed above or below the horizon, it will cause otherwise parallel vertical lines to appear as if they are converging."

Thanks for all the input. It seems like when I photograph a yard the trees etc towards the left and right edges are leaning out. Makes for a strange picture. Is this something that a software could fix?

Thanks for all the input. It seems like when I photograph a yard the trees etc towards the left and right edges are leaning out. Makes for a strange picture. Is this something that a software could fix?