DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air range

jdecoudres

Reactions
I’m looking into purchasing this mavic air. Since the connection is only WiFi will I have trouble with the range. Will flying in town effect the range with all the WiFi that is available in town. I’m new to this and really only using this as a hobby and possibly taking some fishing footage.

I think you'll run out of the ability to see the drone visually well before you run out of WiFi signal.

Reactions: DocShultz
I don’t own the air myself but I’ve heard lots of reports of poor range especially near towns. Seems like a great piece of kit but perhaps better for rural flying. Not sure when they are due to release a new one but hopefully they include occusync in the refresh which would eliminate the current signal issues. Perhaps if you’re in a small town it may be a non-issue but if a busy one it may become problematic?

I haven’t purchased either yet so I don’t have a Manuel. Trying to decide my best option to purchase

I am sopose to be flying no more then 400 ft isn’t that correct. So will the range of the drone really be a issue.

The manuals are available on line. I would recommend downloading, then you can do a very practical comparison of features and capabilities of each. That may help you to make a better informed decision vs “this one is bigger and better”. There are a lot of very well informed persons on the forum as well, with incredible feedback. Use the info they provide with the specs from the manufacture to compare the models of your choosing. I would also recommend visiting a local shop for some possible hands on.

Happy Shopping,
R
Jeffrey

I am sopose to be flying no more then 400 ft isn’t that correct
If you're flying in the US, you also need to fly within VLOS. That means you need to be able to see the drone with your eyes.