DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Anyone tried oversized propellers

rjhat3

Reactions
Im a new drone pilot. Ive had my MM for a couple weeks now, and am having a blast. I have noticed that the MM struggles in any kind of wind, and has caused a few fly away situations that ive read about. Just curious, has anyone tried installing slightly oversized propellers, or even propellers with a more pronounced pitch? this would help develop slightly more thrust, possibly saving a MM in a fly away situation caused by windy weather. Anyone tried this?

Reactions: Steel63
I can tell you that the MM's front props are already maxed out lengthwise. Mine has the black skid marks along the edge of the fuselage to prove it. I don't know but it's logical to assume it happens when climbing or descending fast, maybe both. Maybe other situations as well like tight banked turns. Hard to know for sure.

Last edited:
Reactions: Steel63
Size and/or pitch increases that provide increased thrust must operate at a lower RPM which will move the designed operating characteristics of the propulsion system and flight controller algorithms. Increased current demand, perhaps approaching the design maximum is possible. The rate of RPM change will also be reduced which could actually reduce performance (reaction time to changing wind loading being an obvious potential consequence).

I'm not an engineer, or propeller designer, just an airplane pilot and owner. It's been said that propeller design is part science and part black art, but here's a few rules and thoughts: