DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

As a Part 107 pilot, could you still pass the test today without studying ahead of time?

Dangerly

Reactions
As I am studying for the Part 107 test, I am trying to understand how much of the test is based on memorizing things just before you take the test that you would likely forget, versus how much stuff sinks in. Could you pass the test today without studying ahead of time? I would love to know!!!

Could you tell me without looking it up these things that might appear on the test:
  1. The MULTICOM frequency for self-announce?
  2. Could you recite from memory the 5 personality factors the FAA cares about?
  3. The number of days you have to notify the FAA if you move?
  4. The distance you should operate from a tower to avoid hitting guywires?
I'm wondering how much of this stuff sticks with you far after you pass the test. And I'm also wondering about how useful the test is, as far as remembering things after you pass.

Reactions: James in the Desert
1. No one remembers because we never use it. We're not even allowed to use it.
2. I had to look up the 5th one (resignation)
3. I haven't moved in 26 years, so I've forgotten. I guess I'll look it up if I do move.
4. That is totally dependent on the height of the tower.

But 1, 3, and 4 are rarely used. It's unlikely you'll them much either. And you don't really want to be too terribly involved in discussions about #2. Especially if you're the subject of the discussion... :)

Reactions: Dangerly
1. No one remembers because we never use it. We're not even allowed to use it.
2. I had to look up the 5th one (resignation)
3. I haven't moved in 26 years, so I've forgotten. I guess I'll look it up if I do move.
4. That is totally dependent on the height of the tower.