DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Autopilot app question.

MavicKhan

Reactions
As a pilot, I keep getting this feeling, in this hobby, that app developers mix heights with altitudes and vice-versa.

I am taking my first steps with Autopilot.

In this app, when inputing "Altitude" in a waypoint are we really selecting an altitude (i.e. measured vertical distance to mean sea level, adjusted for barometry) or simply "height"/"elevation", the vertical distance of an object measured from a specified datum? If it is the later, which datum reference is used at each point? The departure point as "0" or the ground elevation laying beneath, at that point.

The difference is crucial to avoid mishaps and I would appreciate any clarification on the subject.

Thanks.

MK

You mean height or elevation measured from my start point?

(There's no such thing as "altitude from a starting point". That confusion is, precisely the point of my post)

...but, if so, how come the app does not allow for negatve values at the waypoints? How do you direct it to fly at lower level than that departure reference, say, departing from an high hill to film a lighthouse below, a coastline?

Thanks.

MK

Last edited:
Reactions: BrooklynFlyer
Autopilot does allow negative vallues.
And yes, height.... sorry

Adventure is just bad planning

Thanks,

I have this afternoon free and am undergoing accelerated-self-desk training on the app. :)

I have it here, right by my side, inputing a training waypoint mission and can't figure out how that is done.

No matter if in the "Basic", "Intermediate" or "Advanced" tabs, at each waypoint selection window the "Altitude" slider does not go below +8 meters.

MK

I'm getting quite good at Autopilot. Make a Private Message and tell me your issue

Adventure is just bad planning

Autopilot can use two different methods for calculated Altitude.