DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best set of ND filter right now ? Should we wait ?

kraft2000

Reactions
What are the "best" set of ND filters right now for the Mavic 2 Pro ?
Should we wait for better one to be released and which one in particular ?

Polar Pro consistently delivers quality filters along with a good warranty and good customer service. I only have experience with them on certain drones but have been very happy - no color casts and no image degradation. I am a professional photographer as well and am extremely *****/picky about everything. I looked at Skyreat but the manufacturer has repeatedly ignored my numerous inquiries about quality issues, so I personally would not give them my money, nor will I be buying my MP2 filters from them. Polar Pro is usually the safest bet, and they are still cheap enough relative to the cost of the drone that in my opinion there is no point in cheaping out on filters trying to save a few bucks. They are also something that directly affect image quality, so you want them to be good. The other thing to watch out for on less well-known brands is if the weight is such that it interferes with gimbal calibration - I think PP has had issues with this in the distant past but have long been resolved.

When deciding what filters you need/want, keep in mind that diffraction starts to degrade the MP2 image beyond F4, so if you are picky about image quality (sounds like you are if you want good filters) after F4 you should be using ND filters instead of just using smaller apertures if you want the most out of the MP2. I've seen some threads telling people to only use ND filters after F11 and that is very poor advice if you care about image quality.

Point/Counter Point!

Let me push back a wee bit on Mr. CDs post from the point of view of a hobbyist who appreciate quality video.