DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best tablet under $500 for flying a drone?

I’ve been flying commercially since 2017 and I’ve tried a lot of devices. Despite being a dedicated android guy since android 2.1 I soon gave up on them due to the varying levels of compatibility. Those of you who’ve been there know what I mean, some android devices are brilliant, some can be flakey and some don’t work at all. Of course that’s down mostly to the various skins and mods that the different manufacturers load to make their devices stand out not the android itself, the closer to stock vanilla andoid you get the better it works but none the less, having to mess around for 20 minutes in front of a client is not a good look.

I bought a smart controller and found that while it was a brilliant form factor and ran vanilla android and worked fine with the standard DJI apps it’s lack lustre cpu and bare minimum of ram made it somewhat marginal when I started loading third party packages that I needed in commercial operations assuming I could load them at all so I sold it.

After trying a few apple devices like Rchawks I settled on a top model iPad Mini 5 with a hoodman and have been using that with great results for a couple of years. The screen wasn’t as bright as I liked especially in the bright Aussie sun or flying at sea but that’s what the hoodman was for and as far as performance and reliability went it is flawless.

Then a month or so ago I took a recurring job until the end of the year for a geo consultancy group who required that I use Pix4dcapture to match the flights of the previous pilot. Sadly IOS support for Pix4dcapture is not a primary concern for the developer who concentrate on android and in particular it lacks the ability to import polygon area maps in .kml format in the IOS version so I was back looking for android device.