DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Bizzare crash - Mavic Pro 2 wants to go into hedge!

romelus

Reactions
I've been flying drones since 2013, so not a newbie here. The other day I had my M2p hovering at low level, then noticed it drifting toward a fence / hedge. I pull it back gently but it starts to really want to go toward it! I pull back with more force and it's barely making a difference. There are trees in the opposite direction so I don't want to over correct. I turn the drone away from the hedge and push the stick to move it straight forward, but it decides to go sideways and straight back into the hedge!

The drone clipped the hedge and fell to the ground, luckily no major damage and has flied fine since. I'm puzzled as I've never seen this before. I don't think the chain link fence could cause enough interference, it's a normal fence and I've been near similar fences before. There was nothing strange in the hedge, just normal cedar. Any ideas?

Have video if anyone is curious.

Could be lack of GPS, however letting one of the pro's here look at the flight logs would probably be more definitive was to what happened. Check the Mavic Crash forum for more info on retrieving logs if you've never done it..

I've been flying drones since 2013, so not a newbie here. The other day I had my M2p hovering at low level, then noticed it drifting toward a fence / hedge. I pull it back gently but it starts to really want to go toward it! I pull back with more force and it's barely making a difference. There are trees in the opposite direction so I don't want to over correct. I turn the drone away from the hedge and push the stick to move it straight forward, but it decides to go sideways and straight back into the hedge!