DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Canada - Advanced Flight Certificate

KRASHED

Reactions
Hi everyone,

I bought a Mini to help myself in an upcoming job posting for drone operators. I am putting in flight time but I would like to get my advanced licence as well.

There's numerous sites for Canadians to get this licence but I'm a little confused on the variances in it. What is the recommended site? There's one that has a 30% discount for first responders so I'm leaning towards that.

If I'm not mistaken it seems like there's online training, then you write the exam and then there's an in person flight review? I'm a complete newbie at this point.

Hi everyone,

I bought a Mini to help myself in an upcoming job posting for drone operators. I am putting in flight time but I would like to get my advanced licence as well.

There's numerous sites for Canadians to get this licence but I'm a little confused on the variances in it. What is the recommended site? There's one that has a 30% discount for first responders so I'm leaning towards that.

If I'm not mistaken it seems like there's online training, then you write the exam and then there's an in person flight review? I'm a complete newbie at this point.
YouTube: DonDronesOn Don't waste you money. And you might find https://tc.canada.ca/en/aviation/dr...recency-requirements-self-paced-study-program useful.

You don't need to take any "training" ahead of time... You can just do the exam(s).

Some knowledge going in will definitely help though! I did a ground school (paid for by employer) but I agree that Don Drones On is a really good resource and may well be all you need.

The tests themselves (basic and advanced) are $10 a pop through the online drone portal webpage. If you fail (need 60%, if I remember right, for basic, 80% on advanced), you can try again after 24 hrs, $10 each time.