DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Cell Deviation and Charging

NoVaMavicPilot

Reactions
Hi All,

I am a M2P pilot with about 80 safe flights under my belt since getting my commercial cert. I have my batteries set to discharge at 2 days and never let them sit fully charged. I have had to "top off" a few times when I knew they were discharging to 90 percent or so. I always land with no less than about 35-40 percent battery, to be safe. I have three batteries and charge in sequence on a DJI multi-charger. No flying in extreme conditions, although today, here near D.C. I flew in 20 degrees to actually test battery performance straight above my house. My batteries have all been charged less than 24 times. Towards the end of my flight I got a lost connection notice, but the M2P was fully responsive (for another discussion thread). Of greater concern is one my batteries showing a growing number of cell deviations per flight. I've checks the discussions, and it seems there are various opinions on how concerning this could be, but I am wondering if I should try to "reset" these batteries by bringing them down really low and recharging? Is there a battery optimization procedure you recommend beyond just letting it self-discharge? Also, does the self-discharge mode get it down to the optimal storage percentage or is there a better procedure? I love this forum. Thanks!

Hi All,