DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Class E and G airspace questions.

Carlos de Castro

Reactions
I just started studying for the part 107 test and am a little confused about class E airspace.

Looking at the airport in my hometown here http://vfrmap.com/?type=vfrc&lat=44.275&lon=-85.419&zoom=10

It is a class E airport because of the shaded magenta color. Inside the circle Class E airspace only starts at 700 ft AGL? Because it's not dashed magenta like ------, it is not at the surface. So in other words, anywhere within the circle below 700 FT AGL is considered class G airspace? Would I have to contact the airport to fly within the circle if I'm flying in what is considered class G even if it is within 5 miles of a class E airport?

I just started studying for the part 107 test and am a little confused about class E airspace.

Looking at the airport in my hometown here VFRMAP - Digital Aeronautical Charts

It is a class E airport because of the shaded magenta color. Inside the circle Class E airspace only starts at 700 ft AGL? Because it's not dashed magenta like ------, it is not at the surface. So in other words, anywhere within the circle below 700 FT AGL is considered class G airspace? Would I have to contact the airport to fly within the circle if I'm flying in what is considered class G even if it is within 5 miles of a class E airport?

I had a similar question and sent the FAA an email... Their response:

"Thank you for your inquiry. If flying only for hobby purposes the law requires that you notify all airports within five miles of your area of operation. If operating under Part 107 with a remote pilot certification you do not need to contact any airports in Class G airspace; however, if you are flying in controlled airspace you will need to request authorization through this portal here: http://www.faa.gov/uas/request_waiver/."

Reactions: Otto