DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

COM CAL before each flight...

JOE CHRONIC

Reactions
Lately I have been doing a com cal before each flight session (5 batteries/session)

I haven't been getting a message to so but feel better knowing my drone knows where to return home to.

Anyone else do this or is it overkill?

Lately I have been doing a com cal before each flight session (5 batteries/session)

I haven't been getting a message to so but feel better knowing my drone knows where to return home to.

Anyone else do this or is it overkill?
Have no clue what a "Com Cal" is but whatever it is, it isn't just overkill...it's a plain waste of time and not needed. ;) You would do better to verify your return home height every flight and trust that when the app says it recorded your homepoint to verify and check it on the map...then fly and know that your DJI will come right back there. I have been flying DJI for about 5 years and RTH has never failed and I use it for about every flight :)

Reactions: ldallara-air2
Com Cal = Compass calibration

I am under the impression it helps with the RTH button?

I use the RTH almost every flight especially if I am out in the boons going for max distance out of sight

Com Cal = Compass calibration

I am under the impression it helps with the RTH button?

I use the RTH almost every flight especially if I am out in the boons going for max distance out of sight
DJI has always said more harm than good can come doing the compass cal over and over. I have a DJI aircraft that has had one (1) compass cal in 4 years, it has been more than 1000 miles from that point. My RTH never fails to bring me within 2 foot of launch point...and that aircraft doesn't have Precision landing feature. RTH is reliant on Compass, but more so on GPS and recording that info. IF it records homepoint and tells you that it has that info...it just does from my obdservations...stop doing unneeded Compass Cals. :)