DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Complete beginner here.

From California, US - @Dapper Dan - Thanks for joining us @ MP!
A lot may depend on what you want to use it for. Recreational flights or monetary flights. Also, you'll have to look into the rules and regulations Australia's Aviation Administration have for drone flights.
Small ones could be something like the Mini 4 Pro, something a little larger would be something like the Mavic 3. Others will likely come on to share their view of things too.

Reactions: MA2 317
I would appreciate any input on what to buy - or not to buy - as my first drone. This must be a very common question I know, but any input would be gratefully received. How shall I put this ... "I'm shopping on a budget". I'm in Central Queensland, Australia ..... thanks in advance.
Good morning and welcome from Warwickshire in the UK. You have quite a few options.

Small form factor:

Mini 2 (cheapest, still a very capable general purpose drone).

Mini 3 series (excellent camera and a big step up in features).

Mini 4 pro (most expensive but enough of an upgrade in camera quality and transmission signal technology to warrant the cost).

Then the larger drones like the Air series.

Air 2S (still in production and used extensively, carries a 20mp sensor, excellent still & video quality, good middleweight design but limits you regarding where you can use it legally)

Air 3 (startling upgrade regarding camera layout and the same bomb-proof O4 transmission signal as the Mini 4).