DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Controlling drones with a program that supports on-the-fly route updates

gene40

Reactions
Hi everyone, I'm wondering how to get a drone to receive on-the-fly steering input from a program. I'm new to drones, but have a software/hardware background. I'd like to figure out the easiest way to get this working. Is there an existing control app that allows custom functions or programmatic input to control the flight path? Or, what would be the best way to approach this? Thanks for any help!

Greetings from Birmingham Alabama USA, welcome to the forum! We look forward to hearing from you!

I'm not a programmer so I can't help much. There are a few out there already such as Litchi, Drone Deploy and Drone Link. You may want to look at their stuff to get an idea.

Welcome.

It won't work on DJI quads that this forum is focused on, but check out Ardupilot. It's a control platform that has been used on just about anything RC.

Also, since you're in the Seattle area, check out rctestflight on YouTube and at his website. He is in your area and uses Ardupilot for a lot of his projects. If Ardupilot would work for what you need, I'm sure he would be the one to know.

Hi everyone, I'm wondering how to get a drone to receive on-the-fly steering input from a program. Thanks for any help!
Why would someone new to drones want to be flying waypoint flights ?
Surely the fun is in flying the drone yourself ?
Telling us which drone you have would be a good idea what software is available likely depends on the drone's model.

Telling us which drone you have would be a good idea what software is available likely depends on the drone's model.
Soon AI will change this and 100% control over your drone will be nearly obsolete.

I read your post differently than the others as looking to be able to programmatically control the drone with code you develop.