Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Crashed my Mini 2 into water

pimpnswivel

Reactions
Site
www.youtube.com
Hey guys,

I just wanted to share my story and a bit of knowledge about potentially saving my drone from water. A few weeks ago I was filming with my drone and i didn't have my prop guards on, and of course i flew into a tree and it landed in the snow... the snow was melting so it got all over my drone. i tried flying it and i got a gimbal error. and my video feed was shaking so i decided best not to fly it anymore and let the poor thing dry out. after it dried out i flew it again a week later and everything was working great. got some awesome footage and had no issues. but the other day I took it out again and i had a big oopsy. I was flying my drone under a few bridges over an icy ravine that was facing a waterfall and once i got under the last bridge facing the waterfall i wanted to go under the last bridge and up the face of the waterfall. the footage was looking amazing. i was so excited. i was about to have the perfect shot and as i went up, my drone crashes. turns out my drone wasnt fully past the bridge and it hit the underside of the bridge and fell into the ravine. i immediately jumped into the icy cold water which was about knee height and was able to recover the drone. the light was flashing on it underwater but i could tell it wasnt flashing properly. it was like an out of sync HELP ME type of flashing. i immediately pulled the battery out, drove it home and tried drying it out as best i could.... at first i just used some paper towel to dry up as much as i could inside and out and then i used a hair dryer on low setting to dry out the motors and the inside a bit more. luckily there was barely any physical damage to the unit, just a couple propellers had broken tips so i replaced them. it doesnt even make sense how the propeller tips got damaged because i had my prop guards on lol. sadly my drone is out of warranty so i cant