DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Descending below altitude of take-off elevation?

Hugabeen

Reactions
Hi fellow Mavic Pilots,
I have searched threads and forums and the manual to find a solution to this problem but haven't found any clear answers. Perhaps it's been covered before but I'm not having much success finding it. I'm trying to figure out what I'm missing in my settings that prevents me from descending in elevation below the point of launch. This is an intermittent issue. I have had no problems with this in the past until a few months ago (possibly after a firmware update?) and was able to launch at a canyon rim or riverbed and descend downward to shoot below my launch elevation. Now, the aircraft won't allow me to do this unless I disable downward vision sensors. I'm a fairly experienced pilot having flown DJI drones including the P2V+, P3P, P4P, Mavic Pro, Mavic AIr, Mavic 2 Pro, Spark, Mavic Mini and the Inspire 1 recreationally and professionally since 2014. But I'm also human and aware that I am fully capable of stupid and making mistakes. Any relevant and new insight would be very much appreciated.

Now, the aircraft won't allow me to do this unless I disable downward vision sensors.

What specifically does it do? Does it just stop at that elevation? If so, can you move the craft laterally (left right fwd bwd)?

Do you get visual or audible warnings from the app?

But I'm also human and aware that I am fully capable of stupid and making mistakes.

Ain't we all.

Chris

What specifically does it do? Does it just stop at that elevation? If so, can you move the craft laterally (left right fwd bwd)?

Do you get visual or audible warnings from the app?

Ain't we all.

Chris