DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Determining the proper ND filter

nieto

Reactions
I am pretty new to the Mavic Air and a beginner to real photography (beyond just point and shoot). I have read I needed ND filters and purchased some. I have an App that helps me determine what ND filter to use after I know the FPS I want and the current shutter speed. Do I need to fly the Mavic Air in order to determine the current shutter speed or is seeing what the Mavic Air is indicating ON THE GROUND what the shutter speed is good enough? In other words, are users seeing pretty close to the same shutter speeds in the air and on the ground?

You set the shutter speed to be roughly double your fps. So if you're shooting at 30 fps, the shutter speed would be 1/60th of a second. (Manually set the ISO to 100.)

Then you use whichever ND filter gives you the correct exposure. I generally do that when the Mavic is still on the ground, pointing the camera toward something that is lit the same as whatever I will be shooting video of. In other words, don't point the camera into a shaded area if you're gong to be filming in direct sun.

I am still learning this as well, but I have been a recreational photographer for ages. You are basically doing metering, so you want what is in the viewfinder to be what you will actually shoot, as far as exposure is concerned. If you are in sunlight and plan to shoot in the same light, then yes, the exposure should be the same. If you are in shadow and are flying up into sunlight, then it will be off.

The math isn't too hard to do in your head. Doubling the ND value will cut shutter speed in half. If you are at 1/120 shutter and ND8, an ND16 will get shutter speed to 1/60. If you are at 1/240 with ND4, you need ND16 to get to 1/60. (ND8 would be 1/120 in this case). ND4 will cut the shutter speed in half from not having one at all.

Reactions: hpuxman