DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Distance

sain1248

Reactions
Hi Guys,

I'm very new to drones, I only flew one a couple of weeks ago.
I'm now the owner of a DJI Mini 4 pro.

My question is:

I keep hearing about line of sight, so can I for instance, fly the drone in between and behind things, such as trees or buildings?
Does it have to be in clear sight of the remote control?

The newer drones are pretty good, and going around objects shouldn't present too much of a problem in most cases.

However, a couple of things:

1. Any objects between you and the drone could interfere with the radio link, resulting in diminished or unstable communication with the drone.

2. If your controller can't see the drone, that means you probably can't either. Most places require recreational drones to be flown within visual line of sight (VLOS) unless you have some type of authorization in law or from the aviation authority, etc.

Happy flying!

The pertinent FAA regulation is below. This is generally interpreted to allow momentary loss of sight when flying behind a narrow obstacle (a tree, orbiting a lighthouse, for example). However, strictly speaking you are required to have direct visual contact at all times, and not just visible, but can see it well enough to determine attitude.

----‐-------------------

14 CFR § 107.31 - Visual line of sight aircraft operation.

§ 107.31 Visual line of sight aircraft operation.
(a) With vision that is unaided by any device other than corrective lenses, the remote pilot in command, the visual observer (if one is used), and the person manipulating the flight control of the small unmanned aircraft system must be able to see the unmanned aircraft throughout the entire flight in order to:

(1) Know the unmanned aircraft's location;

(2) Determine the unmanned aircraft's attitude, altitude, and direction of flight;

(3) Observe the airspace for other air traffic or hazards; and