DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI IS EVOLVING THE WAY IT MAKES DRONES

I've read several threads where Mavic 3 owners feel slighted by DJI in the way the Mavic 3 has "evolved". But as a business owner myself who produces items with no guarantee of market reactions, I have a different take.

I want to state that I am in no way, a fan-boy of DJI. In fact; if another company could come up with a product that fits my needs better, I would happily go that direction, in fact; I hope to see it in the future.

That said: DJI is the industry leader at the moment in consumer drones, no doubt - they are plotting the very 'course' of consumer drones in the future. There is no 'road map' for their new products, they are largely taking leaps of faith, based upon past sales' history. (Anyone remember "New Coke")?

I know I will take heat for this but; the extra camera of the first M3 was a gimmick - it had high promise and many customers bought in. But as mentioned in your article - the proof was not in the pudding. So what did they do? I say the only logical course of action is what they did:

1] Salvage the M3 line by targeting what it was about the Mavic three that didn't disappoint (the main camera), and; release a streamlined (interim) version - the "Classic"

2] Refine the failed portion of the original Mavic 3. And to do this they simply went to 2 additional cameras, each having a dedicated, different focal length.

I think DJI made a slight miscalculation in the original Mavic 3 and the 'Classic' and 'Pro' versions are simply their answer to that. Unlike some who think; DJI (in all it's infinite wisdom ;) ), planned this to screw customers, I see it as; DJI is learning the market still.