DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drifting / Magnetic Interference? (a.k.a. I need some pre-flight checks!)

JoeSoap76

Reactions
Hi,

I was flying my M2Z yesterday and found I had quite significant sideways 'drift' at times. It was particularly bad when I was near this old church. I took off from the grass in the middle of the ruined outline of walls on the left and really had to work to keep it in place.

DJI_0541.JPG

At the time I put it down to the wind, but whilst it wasn't still it wasn't blowing a gale either and the drone handled fine once it was up at the height in the picture. Thinking back on it I realised that I turned the drone on inside the grounds and had to calibrate the compass... and I did that on that gravel path leading towards the gate, near to the building and surrounded by gravestones.

So, I'm new to this. I've read that magnetic interference can be a problem, but would it account for fairly severe sideways drift like this? I guess big old stones like this might be a particular source and calibrating close by was a bit stupid. Live and learn.

I won't get a chance to recalibrate in an open space for a day or two... just a bit worried that I'm jumping to conclusions and it's going to be something more mechanical.

The Mavic will fight to keep its position hold even if it has to hover in an angle. I do a hover test at a height beyond VPS range to test GPS hold before actually flying. This is also the best time, imo, to resave homepoint as an extra precaution when there is a good chance auto RTH might kick in during my flights. I only do compass calibration when my hover test fails.

I was thinking that if this does turn out to be magnetic interference I will have learned to not panic every time the app tells me to recalibrate the compass, but to look about and ask 'why?' before doing anything.