DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drone Down!

SeanIsHere

Reactions
As I'm new to drones and specifically my Mini SE, I decided to purchase a little £25 thing off of Amazon. I thought it might help me with learning to fly and boost my confidence. It arrive around 1300h GMT and by 1400h I had it in the air.....as of 1430h it has been stranded on the peak of a rooftop some 35m up.

Ironically I'd decided that it was to be my "learn to fly" drone.

There is no reason for this post, other than to share my fail of the day and perhaps to raise a smile.

Yep.

Cheap drones are easy to crash.

DJI drones are easy to fly. :)

Reactions: Droniac
That's a tall house.
When you get the SE you may be able to use its down draft to blow the toy off the roof. If you try, try to blow it off the eves rather than down the roof, it may get caught in the gutter.
I wouldn't try to catch it, just in case that causes you to lose control of the SE.
Just try to aim it for something soft.
Just in case the idea occurs to you, as a newbie do not try lifting the toy with the SE.
I went the same route as you though there isn't really any comparison between flying s £25 toy and a DJI drone.

That's a tall house.
When you get the SE you may be able to use its down draft to blow the toy off the roof. If you try, try to blow it off the eves rather than down the roof, it may get caught in the gutter.
I wouldn't try to catch it, just in case that causes you to lose control of the SE.
Just try to aim it for something soft.
Just in case the idea occurs to you, as a newbie do not try lifting the toy with the SE.
I went the same route as you though there isn't really any comparison between flying s £25 toy and a DJI drone.
It's a four story office block that was closed for the weekend. Please don't think I was being too irresponsible in flying where I was...there are approximately 150 parking bays and they were empty.