DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Few "General Classification" Questions

Yes I have completed this.

Yes this has been done. Also registered with the FAA as a Recreational Use drone. I've done all the legality stuff to my knowledge, this thread was moreso for me to make sure I have all my "CAN" and "CANNOTs" figured out
You're better prepped than many. I'm new at this drone rule stuff myself - and I've spent way too much time trying to understand the details by digging into the laws. So many actual FAA rules are interpreted so many ways it gets silly. You can find conflicts at separate FAA web pages or even from two different FAA personnel answering consumer questions.

One thing though - keep 14 CFR Part 107 rules completely separate from the Exception for Limited Operation of Unmanned Aircraft USC 44809. There is no overlap. At least - that was what the FAA has told me directly.

I was responding to

And later asked:

From the FAA:

What is a Recreational Flight?​

Many people assume that a recreational flight is one that is not operated for a business or any form of compensation. But, that's not always the case. Financial compensation, or the lack of it, is not what determines if the flight is recreational or commercial. The following information can be used to help you determine what rules you should be operating under. Remember, the default regulation for drones weighing under 55 pounds is Part 107. The exception for recreational flyers only applies to flights that are purely for fun or personal enjoyment. When in doubt, fly under Part 107.