DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First Edit - Mavic Mini

CircusBoy

Reactions
Hi MavicPilots, I am looking for feedback on how I can improve my drone shooting and video editing skills. I am flying a mavic mini 1 and working with DaVinci Resolve 16.
I am new to both flying and editing, but recently drove cross country and captured lots of footage. I hope that I can start with little 15 second clips like this, to learn and develop my editing skills. Then stich them all together into a cohesive film/video.

The shaky segment at the 18 second mark, was intentional. It is an attempt to break up a long continuous shot. I feel like it is lacking a little something, maybe it needs some color distortion or grain added to that clip?

I am also unhappy with coloring at the 6-8 second mark, the transition at the 8 second mark.

Finally, I am not in love with the title text. Any thoughts or suggestion?

Reactions: iamcostas
first of all , watching this video clip I was scared twice ?.
I wouldn't dare to be so close to cars at a busy highway. It is supposed to keep a distance generally 30m from people or cars ( tell me if I am wrong) but the most scary thought I don't want to imagine what will happen if for some reasons the drone fly straight into a car.
How did you manage to avoid the road sign? Unbelievable ?.
Either you are born to be a unbeatable professional Mavic pilot or you have a tremendous luck and fearlness ?.

Last edited:
Nice footage
Enjoyed the scenery and nice touch with the roadsign but there is room for improvement.
I'm by no means an expert but try not to be too jerky with your movements. I've been learning this the hard way and have had to discard loads of my own clips that were promising because of yawing at the last minute or in the middle of a shot.