DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying from a skyscraper!

Sounds like you are in the typical middle of the local people that think they control the airspace when in fact the FAA controls the airspace. The FAA rule is clear. 400’ above a structure unless other airspace restrictions or TRF exist. Good luck.
Not sure what you're implying, but I in no way think I control my local airspace. All I'm saying is that - while I'm fully aware of the 400' rule you're mentioning (I've been a P107 pilot for years) - it doesn't apply when you're in controlled airspace. Every time I've received airspace authorization for our local Class B airspace, the authorization specifically states that the altitude authorized is from ground level, and I can't just add on to the local structures like what you're mentioning.

Reactions: Bradders71
Those with Part 107 certification can get authorizations exceeding published ceilings in the sUAS Facilities Maps used by the LAANC system, but the request and subsequent authorization are to a specified height AGL which is absolute. If a job entails flying above a structure that exceeds the Facilities Map altitudes it must be part of the request for clearance.

Good information. Max AGL is calculated by more than one factor. Facility Maps are published by the FAA. Local authorities may provide their answers of how high you can fly even when they are contrary to FAA regulations. The FAA provides local authorities to enforce FAA regulations. UAS Facility Maps