DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in Europe

JDub61

Reactions
Hello community, I'm a newbie here. I own a Mavic Mini and will be raveling to Europe, soon. Are certifications/licensing required to fly recreationally in Spain/ Italy? Thanks in advance, JDub61

Reactions: GFields
Hello community, I'm a newbie here. I own a Mavic Mini and will be raveling to Europe, soon. Are certifications/licensing required to fly recreationally in Spain/ Italy? Thanks in advance, JDub61
Greetings from Birmingham Alabama, welcome to the forum!

UAV Coach is a great resource.

welcome to the forum

Hello Jdub61,
To fly a sub-250gr drone in Europe, you do not need to register the drone itself. You do need to register yourself as a drone pilot.
Being from outside the European Union, you will need to register in the first European country you will want to fly. You do not need to register again in any other EU country you visit next.
Once you are registered, you will receive a UAS operator registration number which is valid throughout Europe. You will need to put a sticker with your registration number to your drone and that's it.
Follow the link provided by Pescobar61 to get you started.

To know about the no-fly zones in Spain, go to ENAIRE Drones or install the Enaire Drones app.

Last edited:
Do yourself a favor and Search EASA regs on this forum. There is much great information on this topic. One tip is to access the EASA site through Luxembourg.

I can't recall right now. For one, I believe it is in English, or available in English. Also, no fees. Someone posted that benefit on this forum less than a month or so ago. Maybe you can search for it?