DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying over moving vehicles and close to commercial buildings in Canada?

Keisersozze

Reactions
I got my Basic Operations drone license this week and still not sure on this. Can I fly over a road with moving vehicles within the city, such as Edmonton or Calgary?

Also, how close can I fly to a commercial building such as an office building or apartment high-rise if there are no people below (within 30m horizontally)?

Is there source material for this somewhere? Thanks.

Edit: Seems no one knows the answer to this question. :(

Last edited:
Howdy
As far as the road question, I don’t think it’s an issue as long as you are not in any airspace apart from “G” .
The buildings , I’m really not sure I don’t remember TC mentioning anything about distances from buildings .

I’m fairly new to flying , and the rules and regulations so don’t quote me on this .

I would have thought someone here would have been able to help.
You could try reposting your questions on the General forum , I think more people read on there .
Where are you located in Alberta ??.

Reactions: Keisersozze
Wow, someone answered. Thanks. Maybe I'll try the General Forum. I just passed the Advanced Drone Exam (written portion) and it's still not clear as there was no mention about roads, so like you said I assume it's allowed.

I live in Calgary, not that this matters really as that's not the only place I am interesting in flying in and all cities have the same regulations.

Last edited:
Hey maybe you could help me out .
I’m interested in taking the advanced drone exam .
Some folks say it’s super hard and often takes multiple tries to pass , and others have said it’s not a lot different to the basic but more questions and less time .
How did you find the exam ?.
Did you use one of the apps to study for it ?.

Hey maybe you could help me out .
I’m interested in taking the advanced drone exam .