DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FROM WHERE CAN I LAUNCH MY DRONE IN THE UK

Crusader14

Reactions
As a new drone pilot I am beginning to find it increasingly difficult to find a suitable location from which to launch my drone. I live in rural England with many villages and several large towns. I am familiar with the rules and regulations governing the flight of my drone. I know I cant launch from private land unless I have the owners permission, which in most cases is either impracticable or impossible. Many of the public open spaces (sports fields, local authority parks, national parks etc) are usually governed by bylaws prohibiting the use of drones. I know I can get permission to use such areas but authorities are reluctant to give permission and will not even consider the matter (drones have a bad reputation as I'm sure you know). The process is also long-winded and very bureaucratic and often the people making decisions have a completely closed mind to the matter.

I know I can fly my drone OVER public and private land without permission providing I stick to the rules regarding minimum separation distances and max height, and do not create a nuisance and infringe people's privacy.

So my questions is, FROM where can I actually LAUNCH my drone legally and without having to seek permission? It seems to me virtually nowhere - which effectively renders my drone a useless but expensive piece of tech..

Any thoughts and advice?

you do not say where you are located, there is plenty of countryside to fly in.many farms are happy to let you fly over their land, you just need to ask them first i fly over a farm and to say thanks i take pics and videos which i put on a memory stick, the farm then down load them to there computer and are amazed to see the farm from the air. i agree there are many places we cannot fly but equally there are many more that we can fly over