DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hasselblad camera struggling to capture colour space of LED video wall?

katrin

Reactions
Hi there, I am a video engineer working with a Mavic Pro 3 pilot. Recently used the drone for an indoor show featuring many LED video walls. Graphics on the walls contain very saturated colours. Most colours are fine, but fully saturated yellow turns white. Consequently saturated orange and skin tone colours turned very red/pink. We tried different colour settings: Normal, D-Log M, D-Log (with adequate LUT in video processing chain), tried underexposing camera or running in different colour temperature (and correcting brightness/colour temp afterwards), but no joy: bright yellow just looks white. Any ideas how to fix it and get better results?

Hi there, I am a video engineer working with a Mavic Pro 3 pilot. Recently used the drone for an indoor show featuring many LED video walls. Graphics on the walls contain very saturated colours. Most colours are fine, but fully saturated yellow turns white. Consequently saturated orange and skin tone colours turned very red/pink. We tried different colour settings: Normal, D-Log M, D-Log (with adequate LUT in video processing chain), tried underexposing camera or running in different colour temperature (and correcting brightness/colour temp afterwards), but no joy: bright yellow just looks white. Any ideas how to fix it and get better results?
I don't know...only raise the question....would shooting with a Cine model using ProRes make a difference? I don't know if ProRes itself has anything to do with color rendition...but I think so...10 bit...more shades might be the exact solution but I think DLog is also 10 bit. Not sure on that count.