DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from (Johnstown On.)

I am a 3month newbie, got MM and MA2 , need a suggestion. Which would be the best place on line to take the Basic lic. Course? Will appreciate any information. Thanks

Welcome!
Look for 'Don Drones On' on YouTube. Don Joyce has put together an awesome set of tutorial videos. Don Drones On - Study Guide for the Drone Pilot Basic RPAS Exam.
The exam is only $10 and you can take it as many times as you need to - you would have to wait at least 24 hours between attempts, though.
My suggestions:
  • Take your time
  • Go through the video a couple of times
  • Read Part IX of the Canadian Aviation Regulations
  • Be prepared for a number of questions that don't seem related to flying a quadcopter
The exam is 35 questions. The pass mark is 60%, it's open book and you have 90 minutes to complete it.
Don lists a number of documents with the video. Keep them available.

And don't forget to register your drones ($5 each) - the fines for flying unregistered drones are kind of hefty, as is the fine for flying without a certificate.

Thanks for the information, i will definitely go for it. MA2 i did register it but not the MM. I appreciate the come back.
Welcome!
Look for 'Don Drones On' on YouTube. Don Joyce has put together an awesome set of tutorial videos. Don Drones On - Study Guide for the Drone Pilot Basic RPAS Exam.
The exam is only $10 and you can take it as many times as you need to - you would have to wait at least 24 hours between attempts, though.
My suggestions:
  • Take your time
  • Go through the video a couple of times
  • Read Part IX of the Canadian Aviation Regulations
  • Be prepared for a number of questions that don't seem related to flying a quadcopter
The exam is 35 questions. The pass mark is 60%, it's open book and you have 90 minutes to complete it.
Don lists a number of documents with the video. Keep them available.