DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from Maine

Jen B

Reactions
Hello everyone, I'm new to drones and the drone community. I just bought my Mavic Pro and am planning on using it mostly for aerial photography and video footage here in coastal Maine. Is anyone else from the New England area and if so any recommendations on scenic spots to fly.

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .Thumbswayup

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

Welcome to the forum! :)

Hi from Damariscotta, Maine. I'm new too. Been reading a lot on this forum so I'm ready to fly safely and without losing my mini or Phantom 4. Been studying for my 107 since it's too cold to be doing much outside recently. Welcome!
Hello, Damariscotta has some beautiful coastal areas, looking forward to seeing your photos/videos. Maybe you can get some aerial shots of the Pumpkin Regatta next year, that would be such a fun event to fly if allowed.

That's a really nice shot of the fort. Did you take this from the East Prom or Peaks? I'm still new to flying so I'm still a bit timid with the cold temps/winds we've had lately and flying over the ocean.
Thank you. It's one of my favorite photos that I've captured. I flew from Spring Point. It's almost exactly 1 mile straight out to the Fort from there. It was not a planned flight that day and just got lucky that it wasn't to windy otherwise it would of really pushed the limits of my Mavic Air.

Basically, thecMaine coast portland and beyond is very nice. Access requires driving down many of the rocky peninsulas. Finding launch sites can be a problem. Studying the area before going there using Google Earth can help.