DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Here's a "sound" idea that should work.

Mavhawk

Reactions
I have a Mavic Pro, but I've also been shooting regular video for quite a while. I'm not an expert but I've had a lot of experience with it. Now that we have so much advanced software and/or very robust software for video editing, things have changed incredibly over the pat 20 years or so. I'm using a higher end program called Adobe Premier Pro, but even the cheaper, less robust programs, are amazing and have a lot of amazing features. I can only speak for Premier Pro on this, but I'm able now to shoot, say, a live band with one camera or more and not only sync the two videos together, in sync, but I can also sync a "separate" audio track I make on a stand alone recorder, like Zoom H6, with the video. The trick is when you start the camera and the external recorder, just clap your hands, and you put a sync point on both the recorder and video. I've actually done this and it works. You sync the two together using the clap sound on the editing timeline in your editor. Once that's done, you can make any cuts, or dissolves, or whatever you want. Well, "hey, boys and girls", why couldn't we do the same with drone footage. What I'm thinking here is something like, maybe setting a recorder near a lake with chirping frogs and birds and stuff, in order to have clear ambient audio of the lake while you fly around and shoot video. Then you just sync it later. In most cases, you probably wouldn't even need to sync it together, and you'd still have really clear audio for your nature video. The other cool thing you might do is get a parabolic audio reflector and use that instead. They've got some pretty good ones out now for sale. I've looked at them, and they're not too cheap, but of course there's different sizes at different prices. The last scenereo here, is you might be able to just run the external audio output back into your ph