DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How do you deal with other (potentially illegal) pilots interfering with your operation?

bitsbytes

Reactions
I have encountered other pilots while flying a few times, each with varying results.

One time while flying, I noticed someone with a camera taking photos of a parade I was planning to get some video of. Then I they pulled a Mavic 3 and a DJI RC out of their bag, which made me extremely cautious as we were setting up nearby to this person. I spoke with him before flying and told him I am also a drone pilot and we discussed where we would be flying to stay out of each others' way, using some roads and landmarks to make sure our aircraft remained in separate areas. This worked fine, they just flew for about 10 minutes taking some photos and then returned back. This worked perfectly fine and there was no issues whatsoever.

On another occasion, I was attempting to take some video of a fireworks show. I attached a strobe to my aircraft and had all the proper authorization for flying at night inside a controlled airspace that does not have LAANC. Unfortunately, someone pulled out a Mini SE and started recklessly flying it over people around the entire park which was completely full of people sitting on blankets and chairs. They didn't use a strobe, nor did it appear that they had TRUST or the correct airspace authorization to fly there. It also seemed like they didn't really understand English, and I was having to deal with my own aircraft, so there wasn't really much I could do other than hold position until they stopped flying. This heavily disrupted what I was doing.

This shows how interactions between pilots flying in the same area can either be great or terrible depending on how willing they are to follow the rules and communicate what they are doing with other pilots. How do other pilots deal with these types of situations?

Reactions: Torque