DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Is it legal to fly around a Nuclear Power Plant

daverich4

Reactions
After I got my drone last Christmas I DL’d B4UFly. Now that app is no longer working I’ve DL’d AutoPylot & Avision. The McGuire Nuclear Power Plant is just down the road from me and all three apps give the thumbs up to flying there with no restrictions. They show restrictions in other areas such as the Charlotte Airport but not at McGuire. I find that hard to believe but I’m fairly new at this so thought I’d ask. Not that I have any intention of flying there, just wonder what’s legal.

View this map

Last edited:
Reactions: sarahb
You don't want to fly there
The Federal Aviation Administration issued a Notice to Airmen in 2004 advising private pilots to avoid airspace over nuclear power plants; this notice was later revised to include drone overflights. In late 2019, the nuclear industry began coordinating with the Department of Energy and the FAA to explore the possibility of restricting drone overflights of nuclear power plants.
The NRC asks nuclear power plant licensees to voluntarily report any sightings of drones over their protected areas. The NRC relays this information to state and local authorities, the FAA and the FBI. Nuclear power plant security forces do not have authority to attempt to interdict or shoot down aircraft flying over their facilities. This includes drones.

You don't want to fly there
The Federal Aviation Administration issued a Notice to Airmen in 2004 advising private pilots to avoid airspace over nuclear power plants; this notice was later revised to include drone overflights. In late 2019, the nuclear industry began coordinating with the Department of Energy and the FAA to explore the possibility of restricting drone overflights of nuclear power plants.