DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Jerky Video with Air 2S

Hydrostan

Reactions
After 2 years I moved up from a Mavic Mini to an Air 2S, hoping to do some 4k videos. I watched a bunch of YouTube videos to get the best settings, and I took this one today and uploaded it to YouTube. I'm very disappointed as it appears to be jerky. As suggested I set the Yaw smoothness at 30, and the Yaw rotation speed at 20. Now I'm a newbie at videos taking mostly still photos with the mini. I expect the video to be jerky on my old PC, but when you upload it to YouTube and watch it on a 4K TV, shouldn't it be much better than on my old PC with a poor graphics card? Where am I going wrong? BTW, we did have wind gusts up to 18MPH, was that a possible cause?

Reactions: notrichie_
I didn't notice jerkiness--just rotating too fast. Take your time when rotating; 5 degrees per second makes for easy viewing.

Reactions: Hydrostan
There is no drone that can handle smooth video with panning that fast. What I do to get smooth video on that pan is to video tape in slow motion and even than you need to be smooth with your pan.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly your Air 2S in the Rain.

The rapid rotation combined with 24 fps is causing 'frame-rate induced stutter.' In addition to slowing your motion rates, do yourself a favor and don't listen to anybody that suggests shooting drone footage at 24 fps unless they're paying you for the footage. There's a very good reason that sports are broadcast at 60 fps nowadays. It all has to do with motion rates. One exception might be night footage edited and played back at 24 fps, due to the additional light intake with slower frame rates.