DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Local park violating state law (article)

Thanks for posting this. Been following your posts. Glad you guys are fighting back.

Reactions: Chip
Thanks for posting this. Been following your posts. Glad you guys are fighting back.

It’s strange to me. After listening to a few of the board members, I feel most have no strong opinions about drones. That’s what makes it so bizarre that they won’t just fix the issue.

Likely they are waiting on public comments. So all local drone operators in the area need to contact them to preserve our ability to fly. If the council ordinance prevails it will become a legal precident for all types of entities to restrict drones unnecessarily.

I'm very new to all of this so I may be way off track here, but I thought the FAA was the only entity allowed to restrict air space. If I'm correct, how does a local entity feel it can do so? Am I missing something important here?? I'm just trying to get a handle on all of this. Thanks!

I'm very new to all of this so I may be way off track here, but I thought the FAA was the only entity allowed to restrict air space. If I'm correct, how does a local entity feel it can do so? Am I missing something important here?? I'm just trying to get a handle on all of this. Thanks!

You are correct. My understanding is that Only the faa can regulate airspace. However, the faa does allow locals to restrict takeoff and landing.

The State of Michigan enacted a preemption statute that prohibits local units of government from enacting or enforcing any rules regarding the possession or operation of unmanned aircraft. The county has absolutely no authority to regulate unmanned aircraft, including takeoff and landing.

You are correct. My understanding is that Only the faa can regulate airspace. However, the faa does allow locals to restrict takeoff and landing.