DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Magnetic Inteference, any ideas on possible causes

nwhessian

Reactions
Hi
Would be nice to get back in the air with my Mavic Pro and i recently found this forum.
I will fill you in below on the history of my issue.

Flying the drone in Thailand over a lake from a narrow jetty made of concrete.
Had no problems with calibration and set off.
Im fairly new to flying which is the main reason for the crash.
I took off and flew up fairly high but was immediately warned of high winds, not fly with care but land immediately was the message.
I brought the drone back down to me and realised just how much it was struggling in the wind.
The design of the jetty meant I had put myself in a difficult place to land, and another major mistake was to set off with a partially used battery even though i had full ones in my bag.
I spent a few grey hair causing minutes trying to wrestle it down, being a newby i did not realise that my forward sensors would be causing me issues due to the steep angle the drone was needing to fly at.
I also had not delved into sport mode yet which would of helped, the sensors were seeing the jetty and the hand rails either side i epxpect and so would not come down the last meter or so to land.
Because of my novice abilities i found that it could only fly against this strong wind with any control when i had it sideways into the wind. Which was really due to the sensors now not seeing the jetty.
Eventually the low battery starts bleeping and panic sets in, still wrestled it around for a while before it gusted off over another possible landing area.
I tried to bring it down there but still the same problem.
Eventually the drone must of kicked into return to home and taken over, it flew back to my position but I was so worried it would gust off again and being surrounded by water i tried a swipe with my hand to knock it out of the air.