DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 1 pro - flickering

DinoBaldi

Reactions
Hi to all video experts!

Usually, I work with drones to do 3D models and aero photogrammetry,
I'm relatively new with standard photos and even more in videos.

I'm trying to reduce the video flickering during a yaw rotation standing in hovering.
I watch on my TV 4K directly from youtube.

It seems that I've better results when if I record in 50 fps than in 60 fps.
Of course, I use ND filters 8, 16 ore 32 when necessary, but I hope to do better than these:

1st example: mountain, medium sunny day, ND16

2nd example: a seaside, cloudly day without ND, sunset, night

3rd example: next to the river, evening, with ND8

Flickering is less evident in other maneuvers, but really noticeable during Yaw.

Any suggestions to do better than these?

Many thanks.

That is certainly strange. It's like the camera is performing auto exposure adjustments, but they aren't smooth. I also noticed it looks worse on the left edge of the video. Maybe try turning any auto exposure settings to manual, like shutter speed and or ISO settings. Change them to manual and see what the video does. If it stops, that would imply the software or camera isn't working properly. The transition between ISO or shutter speeds should be smooth and unnoticeable. Not fluttery or jerky.

Thank you for your suggestions.
I made some other tests:

- with auto-exposure, with exposition blocked, in manual within and without filters.
- in MP4 or MOV
- with two different micro-sd

I can't do better. If I turn on the yaw axis faster than 1 minute on 360 degrees, it flickers.

Do other Mavic 1 pros have this behavior?
I know this is not the 2 pro that I use at work with different F/ settings...
but I hope also the old 1 can do better.

I've tried 1/50, 1/100, 1/200, or higher shutter speed.

But I admit that in 2.7k or in 1080p, with higher fps, it's really reduced.

Many thanks.