DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 3 HLG Davinci Resolve settings

jjcombs13

Premium Pilot
Reactions
I am looking for some Davinci Resolve color management experts that might be able to shed some light on settings for editing HLG from the Mavic 3 or Air2S. Specifically, I am looking for the proper settings for color processing mode and output color space. Should color processing mode be SDR or HDR and is it recommended to output HLG to SDR REC.709, SDR REC.2020 or HDR HLG? Sorry if these are elementary questions but I am new to HLG! Thanks for any advice.

1656860972542.png

The correct settings will depend on what your target display device accepts and is capable of. All hdr work is driven by both the brightness of the target display device, and it’s available color spaces. Most PCs are not capable of hdr display In any case.

Resolve specifically does not support hdr on PCs without a hdr capable display and the hardware to drive it connected.

The correct settings will depend on what your target display device accepts and is capable of. All hdr work is driven by both the brightness of the target display device, and it’s available color spaces. Most PCs are not capable of hdr display In any case.

Resolve specifically does not support hdr on PCs without a hdr capable display and the hardware to drive it connected.
Hi Dave! I have so much still to learn about color grading [sigh]. I have been recording in D-Log on the Mavic 3 since I purchased it, and recently started experimenting with HLG. My primary delivery is via Vimeo, and I am trying to hit the sweet spot with video quality vs. device compatibility. For the Mavic 3, what color processing mode and output space would you recommend for HLG to keep the footage highly compatible? For the D-Log footage I just used Rec.709 but I guess I was thinking I could get more out of my footage with HLG. Instead I seem to have confused and aggravated myself :)