DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air 1 for inspections

mwwm84

Reactions
Hey there! Newbie here. I just got my BVLOS licence and want to start a new drone business. As I have to start somewhere and I don't have any money for investment yet I was wondering what could I do with my Mavic Air 1?
First things that come to my mind are of course roof inspections and photos - correct me if I'm wrong. What else would this drone be capable of? Thank you in advance for help!!

Reactions: 4006448
Air 2 have come way down in price, especially used. It's a much better drone than A1 and very capable for your use. Parts are readily available too.

Reactions: mwwm84
Hey there! Newbie here. I just got my BVLOS licence and want to start a new drone business. As I have to start somewhere and I don't have any money for investment yet I was wondering what could I do with my Mavic Air 1?
First things that come to my mind are of course roof inspections and photos - correct me if I'm wrong. What else would this drone be capable of? Thank you in advance for help!!
Is your Mavic Air 1 still working? I have a Mavic Air 1 and I can tell you that it's basically no longer supported because it's so old. I haven't been able to get it working, even with support from DJI. Is it working for you? You can read my thread on the DJI forum on this topic here: What Android software to use with original Air (1)?

That said, if you can get it working, you can definitely shoot some great video with it.

Last edited:
Reactions: mwwm84
I personally have IOS products, but the buyer bought one of the new Samsung tablets to operate the Mavic Air. I believe it was a Galaxy Tab A7

I personally used an iPad mini 5 which still worked well for the drone and can be had for a realitvily lower price since it is not the latest version.

...My understanding is that only older Android phones are supported by the DJI app you download directly.