DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini motor speed error - always the RIGHT rear. Should I ignore it if new props?

steig

Reactions
As the title says, my error is every flight, regardless of props motor speed error for right rear. It usually occurs 5 minutes or more into the flight and usually while hovering. DJI had me send it in, and after it returned, behaved in exactly the same way.

I've been flying quadcopters since 2002. My first was a Dragonflyer. My best practices has always been to attend to anything not nominal. An error message is not nominal. What other error messages or negatives on my pre-flight and in-flight checks shall I safely ignore?

Check the reported motor speed into the dat file

I got that warning during each flight after I updated the the firmware. Then I was prompted to upgrade firmware of the batteries, which took about 30 seconds to download for each battery. After that, no more warnings. I don't know how this all works, but it seemed to fix the issue.

every .DAT file i had check shows that the error occur when the speed on a motor exceeds 16000 RPM. I think there 2 causes: Strong wind or bad propeler. BUT it can also be bad IMU algorithm, so try an IMU calibration.

Check the reported motor speed into the dat file

There are several instances where only the right rear cracks 16k. Funny how most folks complain about left rear!

Attachments

• flight 1.jpg
    flight 1.jpg
    557.3 KB · Views: 29
  • flight2.jpg
    flight2.jpg
    603.9 KB · Views: 28