DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini signal loss & failed RTH - help with analysis please

Juz

Reactions
A couple of days ago I experienced my first significant UAV mishap and lost my Mavic Mini. I'm not looking to blame anything, just wanted to get some assistance with analysing the factors that might have contributed so that I can reduce the risk of it happening again.

I'm still a relatively inexperienced pilot. Had a Phantom 3 Pro around 6 years ago which I only flew for approx 5 hours before having to sell as I was migrating. Then I bought this Mavic Mini around a month ago, had 2.48 hours flight time from 19 flights. I consider myself moderate risk-taking with where and how I fly it, but have found the RTH always got me out of trouble when I flew beyond the signal range and have always then been able to reconnect and take back over control with no dramas.

This time however I had a sudden complete signal loss and disconnection, the RTH function didn't save me (more on that later), and I wasn't able to get close enough to resynchronise the connection before the battery would have died.

I wasn't able to find a Mobile Device DAT file, so only have TXT log unfortunately.
I have also uploaded the streamed video footage of the flight.

When I watched back the flight log in the DJI Fly app Data Centre the first issue that stands out is that my RTH was set too low. I thought that I had this set to 160m, which in the hilly regions where I tend to fly is usually enough that if I lose signal behind a obstacle, increases the altitude by a few metres and quickly reconnects, allowing me to resume control and bring it back to safety. I usually check this before every flight, but on this occasion I missed that it was set lower.