DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic wouldn't land

skunkman

Reactions
I am very new to drones and have just started with my Mavic. I took it out and launched it off the bow of my boat. When I flew it back the front landing gear touched down but the propellers kept running keeping the rear landing gear off of the ground. I relaunched it and landed it in my hand. Any thoughts as to why it wouldn't land?

I am very new to drones and have just started with my Mavic. I took it out and launched it off the bow of my boat. When I flew it back the front landing gear touched down but the propellers kept running keeping the rear landing gear off of the ground. I relaunched it and landed it in my hand. Any thoughts as to why it wouldn't land?
Did it show any errors? Your VPS could have been confused by your boat. I would try it on land a couple times. The drone uses ultrasonic sensors to determine when it has landed, they may have been confused by the material on your boat.
Regards,
-d.

Did you try the CSC command?

Did it show any errors? Your VPS could have been confused by your boat. I would try it on land a couple times. The drone uses ultrasonic sensors to determine when it has landed, they may have been confused by the material on your boat.
Regards,
-d.
The bow cushion is bright white - I was thinking that this was the issue. I have never had the issue on land.

The bow cushion is bright white - I was thinking that this was the issue. I have never had the issue on land.
If it is a cushion it probably sucked the ultrasonic noise and confused the sensors, cushions, carpet and grass can do this. Glad you are not having issues on land.
Regards,
-d.

Could be that the gyros sensed movement. The motors may not shut off until the craft senses that it is stable on ground (despite what the ultrasonic sensors read).