DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 1, Air 2S and UK regulations in 2022 and beyond…

Reactions
Hi all! inexperienced pilot here and first time poster - happy New Year to you all.

I bought myself a second hand Mavic Mini in March 2021 and I’ve really enjoyed taking my first steps in aerial photography - I’m relatively new to photography generally but I’d class myself as a keen hobbyist who occasionally uses my photos and videos for work (marketing) projects, but mainly just capturing things for my social media/portfolio.

The Mini has been great for learning the basics and its low weight makes it really useful in a variety of situations, but that is also its downfall - I get high wind warnings in even the lightest of breezes so I haven’t flown it anywhere near as much as I’d like.

As a result, I thought I’d treat myself to a New Year gift and buy an Air 2S; I started reading into the changing rules and regulations, particularly re: C classifications, and while it seems a good idea still to get A2 CoC, it feels to me like investing ~£1k in a drone that will probably be essentially obsolete in 12 months’ time (and therefore hold minimal resale value), probably isn’t a great idea so I’d be better served by saving my money to invest in a C-class drone when they arrive.

Is my understanding, and therefore hunch, correct or am I being overly pessimistic? Thoughts appreciated - thanks in advance!

Reactions: Lastrexking
Yup. You got it spot on. Until they make a definite decision on when and how the classification system works then it’s risky buying anything above 250g.

Reactions: AndyGardner1681
Perfect, thank you! I definitely don’t have the money to burn potentially £1k, so it’s either something older and cheaper that has a bit more wind resistance or just stick with the Mini for the time being and accept the limitations. Glad I’m not missing something really obvious!