DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 1st Gen Gimbal Calibration Question

IntoTheSun

Reactions
Hello all, my 1st post here 😎
I’m new to drones and learning to fly this little beast, all’s well so far, no crashes yet 🤞
I’ve had my first Gimbal Motor Overload while flying, probably due to faster flying lately, recovered that situation just fine…
But - now I am more aware of the health & operation of the gimbal.
My question is - upon observing the gimbal calibration at power up, I notice that it taps the flat surface the drone is on - when it does the roll compensation movement part of the calibration. Is this normal? Does the Mini just want to find out where the surface is, or just make sure it’s there haha?
The calibration seems to complete and the gimbal operates as it should, surprises me that it taps the surface it’s on though…

the MM is very low to the ground ,its best to have some sort of landing gear extension to raise it up i have the one that clips to the underside of the body there are many different sorts out there

I suggest you check your observations.
I have just manually rolled two gimbals to their limit of travel whilst the drone being tested was sat on a hardback book. There was perhaps 1mm of clearance, not a lot I admit but clearance all the same. I also booted both drones and again there was clearance.
If your observations are correct then either the gimbal is hanging low or the front arms are sitting high or the surface on which the drone is sitting is not flat.

With regards to the gimbal, the assembly is suspended from 4 rubber dampers, it is not unusual for one of these to be displaced in a crash.
One end of each damper fits over a lug on the gimbal assembly's frame and into a 'groove' on that lug,