DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My adventures with the Mavic 2 Pro

Chasing Light & Shadows

Reactions
Just thought I'd start a thread for the videos I produce and if anyone has any questions feel free to ask. I'm no pro but have a fair bit of experience flying in close conditions with the original Mavic Pro and now the Mavic 2 Pro.

The first video was shot on a trip to the lake district, my nd filters hadn't arrived so didn't really spend much time flying the drone, it was mostly a photography trip.

This second video was shot yesterday using the polar pro 16-4 graduated nd filter and manual POI.

This one was with the original Mavic Pro, loved how stable it was in tight spaces but the camera just wasn't up to much in low light. Need to fly this one again with the new drone although it doesn't stop on a dime the way the original Mavic did and kind of overcompensates a bit unpredictably.

Last edited:
Reactions: ryanolivas
CL&S: The tree POI is outstanding! Now I am really anxious to try out my PP gradients if the weather will ever cooperate.

KB

I've just updated the tree POI with the full version of the video, you can get a better perspective of how well the filters work as in this version the flight carries on above the trees. I flew for another few minutes like this but the video would be way too boring!

CL&S: I just love that clip and especially the way the sun shines through the tree as the camera pans around. Simply gorgeous and ditto for the countryside.

That scene was made for gradient ND filters for sure but even with the 16-4, you have some overexposure and I'm wondering if a 32 gradient would have been even better? Clearly, the M2P has created a whole new cinematography learning curve for us. :)