DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New to Drones - Looking for any advice

boneal2017

Reactions
Hello - thanks for all of the knowledge and advice I have seen on this board. I am a new drone pilot and am taking my FAA Part 107 exam tomorrow. Currently, I do minor drone imagery at my current company (with a PIC) and when I get my license, I am thing about starting a side hustle for aerial photographs for private property owners, real estate, etc. A few questions:
  1. What is a good mid-level drone to purchase for this kind of work? (Really want to keep under $1,000)
  2. What is a good software to use for this kind of work? (Again, looking for cheaper alternatives. Currently have drone deploy with my employer)
Now since I am new to this, I probably will not start off with the latest and greatest technology. I just want to see if any of you guys/gals had advice to provide me.

Thank you in advance.

Reactions: thispilothere
Welcome to the forum from the land of Oz. Best of luck with your 107 exam. As for your drone question, that will depend on many factors, which I’m sure the members of this forum will help you with.
As for software there are a few out there cheaper than dronedeploy. Some are pay as you go, some are free and the others are subscription only. Just remember that you generally get what you pay for.
I might suggest that you direct this question to the commercial drone pilots forum. As those guys are at the coal front.
Regards

Reactions: Phantomrain.org
1. Used or refurb Air 2 or Air 2s
2. Use bootlegged software until you find the one you like, then buy it. People have very different tastes in software and it's insanely expensive to try out 5 packages before settling on one.

EDIT: For photos - Photoshop, Lightroom, AirMagic, Luminar, Capture One. For video - Premiere or After Effects, Vegas

Last edited:
Based on some reading here: