DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New "To the Mavic"

Golgo69

Reactions
Hello all, I'm a new mavic pilot, but not new to drones. I currently have a P4 that I've had for two years, and picked up a mavic (not platinum) today at bestbuy. BestBuy is offering a $100 BB gift card with the purchase of the mavic. I have a couple of question (and yes I'm searching for the answers on this site), does the mavic work well with android phones (I have an S8) and I see that you can use the AC without a phone connected to the RC, does that effect maximum range?? Thanks

Reactions: panam10
Hello all, I'm a new mavic pilot, but not new to drones. I currently have a P4 that I've had for two years, and picked up a mavic (not platinum) today at bestbuy. BestBuy is offering a $100 BB gift card with the purchase of the mavic. I have a couple of question (and yes I'm searching for the answers on this site), does the mavic work well with android phones (I have an S8) and I see that you can use the AC without a phone connected to the RC, does that effect maximum range?? Thanks
It uses DJI GO4 app same as your P4. Whatever works for the P4 should be good with mavic.

You can fly without a phone connected but you may be limited to 50m when not logged into app.
Connecting phone then removing bypasses this.

I wouldn't like to fly to far without phone anyway.

It uses DJI GO4 app same as your P4. Whatever works for the P4 should be good with mavic.

You can fly without a phone connected but you may be limited to 50m when not logged into app.
Connecting phone then removing bypasses this.

I wouldn't like to fly to far without phone anyway.

It depends on which firmware you have. Older firmware allowed unlimited range without a smart device attached. I'm not sure which version had the change.

Reactions: Callum