DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie here - answer questions about DJI drones please

Greetings from Birmingham Alabama, welcome to the forum!

Greetings from Southern Nevada and welcome to the group.

I second those who say to send your Amazon drone back. You will not be happy with it long term. Get a DJI Mini 2. It was my second drone after I bought... and returned an F11 drone from Amazon. I have 3 DJI drones, a Mini 2, an Air 2 S and a Mavic 2 Pro. Most of my work (I am a licensed Part 107 pilot) is for inspections of communication sites. I do about 75 percent of these with the Mini 2. It is a BARGAIN for what it gives you. You can usually pick them up at the Best Buy store on Virginia in Reno.
If you are using these videos for anything other than fun, you will need a part 107 license.

I highly recommend Greg at Pilot Institute. I passed with 90% on my first try.

All the best, have fun and fly safe.

Joe

The current DJI lineup all have good reliable signal strength that use Occusync technology.
Not true wifi.You still need pretty good line of sight from your controller to the drone.Out in the
open you will have no problems.A wall or say trees in the way may cause some issues.The only
DJI drone I would not even consider is the Mini SE as this uses regular wifi.
That's good info, I didn't realize the SE uses regular WiFi.

I'll have to withdraw that recommendation that I made to a friend, and tell them to go with the Mini-2 instead.

Thx!

TCS