DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Noob here - can I make a small business out of drone work?

Charlie987

Reactions
Hi Everyone

I've been (sort-of) furloughed for far too long now, and I'm looking at options for usefully occupying myself. I'm wondering whether anyone has any thoughts on whether it's feasible to make a bit of money on contract work with a drone?

I've been in touch with a training establishment who, naturally enough, are telling me that the market for aerial photography and surveys is bouyant, and are suggesting that I would find plenty of work. I'm looking at getting myself the GVC, and a Mavic 2 Pro, or something along those lines.

Of course, I'm aware that I'd start in the field with no experience (though I do have a flying background), and would need to build a bit of credibility. I'm looking at it as a potential "side-hustle" rather than a sure-fire way to get filthy rich!

I'd really appreciate any experiences or opinions that you could share.

Cheers
Charlie

Good morning and WELCOME to the forum.

First off I want to say.... Keep in mind that the "Training Establishment" is there to make $$ from you. It's in their best interest to paint a very colorful picture of the industry so that you're more enticed to enlist their services.

Caveat Emptor . . . . .​

They may not be painting the WHOLE/REAL picture unfortunately . . . The bar for entry into "Aerial Photography" is so low that you'll be competing with retirees, school kids looking to make play $$, as well as established photographers who are merely adding Aerial Services to their toolkit. All (3) of those competitors can probably do it for next to nothing (as well as you may be able to as well hence "side-hustle" was mentioned) and this tends to totally ruin the price matrix for those looking to actually make a fair wage using UAS Photography.